Bury Me Upside Down, Coffin Lid Open

FAIRLY SPIRITUAL

The Dust of Eden

It’s all a bit odd.  Dirt covers the earth and pavement covers the dirt.  People travel the pavement in cars.  They sit in their cars, on their phones, talking to someone else, somewhere else.  Eden is buried, it’s beneath us.

Dirt covers the earth and buildings cover the dirt.  In the buildings sit chairs, tables, and beds.  The beds, tables, and chairs are turned towards screens.  The screens are full of talking someones from somewhere else.  Eden is buried, it’s beneath our concrete foundations.

Today I have not yet touched the earth.  I came close as I walked from my house to my car.  I took eight to ten steps across the grass.  But my rubber-soled shoes absorbed the earth’s imposition.

My terrain is concrete, tile, wood, and thick woven fabric.  I live in a land of molded plastic, wrinkle free textiles, and framed steel.  I…

View original post 290 more words

Leave a Reply

